Skip links and keyboard navigation

Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to content | Skip to footer | Use tab and cursor keys to move around the page (more information)
Skip Navigation LinksDepartment of Housing and Public Works > Construction > Building and plumbing > Building > Building certification > Guidelines for inspection of class 2 to 9 buildings

Guidelines for inspection of class 2 to 9 buildings

The Department of Housing and Public Works has released Guidelines for inspection of class 2 to 9 buildings (PDF, 2.9MB).

The guidelines provide building certifiers with guidance on how to meet their responsibilities for sufficient inspections under the Building Act 1975 and the Building Regulation 2006.

A building certifier is responsible for managing the building approval and inspection process with all relevant practitioners. This important role helps to ensure that all aspects of the building work comply with the building assessment provisions of the Building Act. Building certifiers are required to undertake sufficient inspections of buildings at stages at which the building development approval states the work must be inspected. In practice, this means that a building certifier is required to take a holistic view of a building rather than just consider a single aspect, such as structural adequacy.

The Building Regulation currently requires mandatory inspections for more simple buildings and structures such as houses (class 1a buildings) and sheds and garages (class 10 buildings and structures). Guidelines are available for these classes of buildings to assist building certifiers to undertake inspections.

The Building Regulation does not currently provide a similar inspection schedule for class 2 to 9 buildings (which include multi-storey residential buildings, office buildings, shops, public halls and commercial and industrial buildings).

These guidelines apply a risk-based approach to the inspection of class 2 to 9 buildings. The guidelines aim to provide practical and effective methods for building certifiers to meet their statutory duties and obligations. A risk matrix, with examples of suggested application to particular buildings, forms part of the guidelines and complements the risk-based approach to inspections.

The guidelines have been developed after extensive consultation with industry stakeholders such as the Australian Institute of Building Surveyors, Housing Industry Association, Master Builders Queensland, Queensland Fire and Emergency Services, Society of Fire Safety—Engineers Australia, Queensland Building and Construction Commission and the Local Government Association of Queensland.

The guidelines, made under section 258 of the Building Act 1975, take effect from 1 August 2012. They will be an important aid for industry for the certification of class 2 to 9 buildings.

More information

For more information email​

Last updated 19 June 2019    Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright |  Disclaimer |  Privacy |  Right to information |  Accessibility |  Jobs in Queensland |  Other languages

© The State of Queensland – Department of Housing and Public Works 2009–2019

Queensland Government