Skip links and keyboard navigation

Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to content | Skip to footer | Use tab and cursor keys to move around the page (more information)
Skip Navigation LinksDepartment of Housing and Public Works > Construction > Building and plumbing > Building > Building laws and codes > End-of-trip facilities

End-of-trip facilities

End-of-trip facilities are designated places that support cyclists, joggers and walkers in using alternative ways to travel to work rather than driving or taking public transport. These types of facilities also benefit people who exercise during their lunch break.

End-of-trip facilities include:

  • secure bicycle parking
  • locker facilities
  • change rooms

New requirements for end-of-trip facilities

From 26 November 2010, end-of-trip facilities must be installed for all new major developments and major additions to major developments located in designated local government areas. These requirements are included in the Queensland Development Code (QDC) Mandatory Part 4.1 - Sustainable Buildings.

End-of-trip facilities should be easily accessible to users and located within the building or on-site within 100 metres of a main entrance to the building. The facilities must also be provided in accordance with prescribed workforce or occupant ratios.

To ensure the code is flexible and will adapt to local conditions, local governments may also require additional bicycle parking and storage facilities, locker facilities and change rooms. Local governments will also be able to expand the definition of a major development to encompass a broader range of buildings.

Buildings required to provide end-of-trip facilities

New major developments include the following building types with a floor area greater than 2000 square metres:

  • commercial office buildings
  • shopping centres
  • tertiary education facilities
  • hospitals

Major additions to major developments including any addition to an existing major development that results in additional floor area of at least 1000 square metres will also be required to provide end-of-trip facilities under the code.

Designated local government areas

Designated local government areas include the areas of the following local governments (as identified in Schedule 1 of the Queensland Development Code 4.1):

  • Brisbane City Council
  • Bundaberg Regional Council
  • Cairns Regional Council
  • Central Highlands Regional Council
  • Fraser Coast Regional Council
  • Gladstone Regional Council
  • Gold Coast Regional Council
  • Gympie Regional Council
  • Ipswich City Council
  • Logan City Council
  • Mackay Regional Council
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Mount Isa City Council
  • Redland City Council
  • Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Southern Downs Regional Council
  • Sunshine Coast Regional Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council
  • Townsville City Council
  • Western Downs Regional Council

For local governments not listed above, it is recommended that the relevant local government be consulted.

Queensland Development Code 4.1 may also be adopted through a local government planning scheme or via a council resolution process.

Related resources

Last updated 28 March 2018    Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright |  Disclaimer |  Privacy |  Right to information |  Accessibility |  Jobs in Queensland |  Other languages

© The State of Queensland – Department of Housing and Public Works 2009–2019

Queensland Government