Skip links and keyboard navigation

Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to content | Skip to footer | Use tab and cursor keys to move around the page (more information)
Skip Navigation LinksDepartment of Housing and Public Works > Construction > Sustainability > Sustainable housing laws > Climate zones

Climate zones

It is important to consider the climatic conditions of the area in which a home is to be built or renovated so that its design can provide maximum comfort for occupants while minimising energy running costs for cooling and heating.

The climatic conditions across Queensland range from hot and humid in the tropical north, to warm and mild from central to southern Queensland along the subtropical coast, to cool and temperate on the Darling Downs, and to hot and dry in the western arid interior.

Queensland rarely experiences extremely cold conditions, making it an attractive place to live.

To assist with designing dwellings for a region’s unique climatic conditions, Queensland has been divided into 4 key climate zones for building requirements:

Note: Climate zone 4 does not exist in Queensland.

View a map of Queensland’s four climate zones as defined by the Building Code of Australia (using local government areas).

Last updated 24 June 2016    Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Copyright |  Disclaimer |  Privacy |  Right to information |  Accessibility |  Jobs in Queensland |  Other languages

© The State of Queensland – Department of Housing and Public Works 2009–2019

Queensland Government